When Have You Been Ignored by Medway Council?

In my Dartford Crossing Tolls and Medway Council posting, I asked:

Has Councillor Mason wondered how the residents of Medway feel when we are (constantly) ignored by Medway Council?

Following that posting, I wrote this e-mail to Councillor Mason:

Today’s Medway Messenger news item regarding the Dartford tolls includes this text:
Several councillors voiced their dismay in response to the government’s plans, but Cllr Tom Mason (Con) said: “We’re only consultees. I expect our replies will probably be binned.”

My question, to which I expect a reply please, is:
Have you considered how the residents of Medway feel when we are constantly ignored by Medway Council?

My supplementary questions, to which I also expect a reply please, are:
If the answer to the above question is “no”, why not?
If the answer to the above question is “yes” then what are your thoughts?

Much to my surprise, Councillor Mason replied to my e-mail the same day (7th September):

I also said that the income from the fees should be ring fenced for the provision of another crossing as is outlined in the Council reply.

Please let me know when you have been ignored by Medway Council.

Well, I could not resist giving Councillor Mason examples of when I have been ignored by Medway Council so, on 9th September, I wrote:

These are three examples of where Medway Council has ignored residents (including myself):

1. Medway City application;
2. new bus depot; and
3. Kingsnorth power station re carbon capture and storage.

I also recall the considerable opposition to the school closures.

As requested in my original e-mail, I look forward to your reply providing your thoughts about how the residents of Medway feel being constantly ignored by Medway Council.

I am well aware of the “support” to which the council can point for the above examples but am also aware of the opposition, so please do not try to pretend residents have not been ignored or the majority of people were in support.

At the time of this posting, Councillor Mason had not replied to my last message; I wonder if he appreciates the irony of asking me when I have been ignored then, seemingly, ignoring my e-mail?

David M. Davison

Leave a Reply

